Is Vice President Dick Cheney the Fourth Branch of Government?


Branches of Government:
1. Executive
2. Legislative
3. Judicial
4. Vice President Dick Cheney?

As you’ve probably heard by now, Vice President Dick Cheney claimed late last week that Executive Branch National Archives disclosure laws didn’t apply to him because, as President of the Senate, he is not a member of the Executive Branch. (He of course has consistently claimed in the past that he is also protected from other disclosure laws as a member of the Executive Branch).

Setting aside the legal analysis for a while (is there really any legitimate legal analysis to be had here?), let’s instead focus on the reactions of Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert.

Daily Show video coverage of Dick Cheney’s claim he is not part of the Executive Branch:

Colbert Report video of Vice President Cheney’s creation of a fourth branch of government:

Related posts: